Thailand for farang


Phitsanulok is province in lower northern Thailand.

Phitsanulok borders Sukhothai, Uttaradit, Loei, Phetchabun, Phichit, Kamphaeng Phet and in the northeast it borders Laos.

Phitsanulok is about 377 km north west of Bangkok.

During the Ayutthaya periode in 1463 the capital of the Ayutthaya kingdom moved to Phitsanulok. Phitsanulok was the capital of Thailand for 25 years. After that Ayutthaya returned capital city.

Phitsanulok has 4 national parks :

  • Thung Salaeng Luang National Park
  • Namtok Chat Trakan National Park
  • Kaeng Chet Khwae National Park
  • Phu Hin Rong Kla National Park

If I had to choose another province than Uthai Thani to live in then I would choose Phitsanulok. I like the balance between the more developed big city-like part and the authentic nature. I really love the nature in Phitsanulok!


← Back to Other provinces