Thailand for farang

Khon Kaen

Khon Kaen is one of the Isaan provinces in Thailand. Isaan is the northeastern region of Thailand. It borders Chaiyaphum, Phetchabun , Loei, Nong Bua Lamphu, Udon Thani, Kalasin, Maha Sarakam, Buriram and Nakhon Ratchasima.

Khon Kaen is about 450 km north east from Bangkok.

Khon Kaen is one of the “Big four of Isaan”. The others provinces of the Big four of Isaan are Udon Thani, Khorat, and Ubon Ratchathani.

Isaan used to be one of the poorest regions in Thailand but is now Thailand’s fastest growing economy. The word Isaan is derived from Isanapura, which was the capital of the ancient Chenla Kingdom.


← Back to Other provinces